Lincoln Book Ends

[Abraham Lincoln, candidate for U.S. president...

Image by The Library of Congress via Flickr

One Christmas, when we were living in Omaha, I asked my husband what he wanted for Christmas.  He’s unbelievably difficult to buy for.  He has everything he wants and needs nothing.  He told me he would enjoy some Lincoln book-ends.  This really threw me.  I had no idea where I was going to get said book-ends.

I went to the mall.  I looked everywhere.  Every shop, every nook and cranny and there were no book-ends.  I drove to the mall all the way across town and spent hours scouring the stores.  I checked out every single store and was having no luck.  Finally, I came to a store that had all sorts of games and nick-knacks.  In the display window was a set of Lincoln bust book-ends.  I couldn’t believe my luck.

I went in and asked the cashier if they had anymore in the back.  He checked and they did not.  I asked him if I could have the ones in the display window and he said yes.  He even found the box they came in.  I was so relieved.  My chances of finding just what my husband wanted were so slim as to be unbelievable.  I proudly carried the book-ends home and hid them in my closet.

When Christmas day came, we sat around the fire opening our gifts.  When my husband opened his book-ends, the look on his face was priceless.  He couldn’t believe I have found what he wanted.  I don’t know how badly he wanted them, but I’d found them.  It was a good day.  I never know what to get my husband.  I always buy him a gift card at the book store because that’s usually his main gift.  He’d rather buy a book than anything else in the world, but it gets boring.  I’d finally found the perfect gift.  I will forever remember what that little store looked liked in the mall, in Omaha.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

